User Groups Management

In case you want to add more security and refine further what exactly specific users with their roles can edit within Bloomreach Engagement, you can assign users to access groups. This might be the case if you have multiple teams, agencies, or users working within some set of scenarios as there can be unintentional changes to scenarios from other users. Access groups solve this issue as they lock the edit access only for users who are assigned to those groups.

Groups can be managed by an Account Admin and one user can be a member of several groups.

The owner (or creator) of a definition and an Account Admin can always edit the list of groups. It is also possible to change owners.

πŸ“˜

Currently only scenarios and segmentations support this option.

Group Creation

1. Create a Group

To create a group navigate to theAccount Settings > Access management > Groups and click on the Add group button.

2. Add Group Members

After you click on the + Add member button a window opens where you put the emails of the users you wish to add to the group.

3. Edit Group Members

The name will resolve after the group is saved and if needed you can remove users from a group.

Restrict access

1. Open the List of Segmentations/Scenarios

When you want to restrict access to certain, e.g., segmentation navigate to the list of all segmentations. Expand the Edit menu next to the item where you want to restrict access and choose Access lock….

2. Select the Access Group

In a new window, you can select the groups that will have access to that segmentation.

You can select one or more groups and Save the settings.

The new lock icon will appear next to the name of the locked definition.

3. Bulk Access Restriction

It is also possible to restrict access as a bulk action for several resources at once.

You need to select the segmentations you wish to restrict access to and click on the Access lock... icon from the menu.

πŸ“˜

When bulk action is used all previously assigned groups will be overwritten with a new set of groups.

🚧

Appropriate Roles

It is not enough to be a member of the group to have edit access. Users also need to have an appropriate role, e.g., Scenarios Editor or Scenarios Publisher to be able to have edit or publish permissions.

πŸ“˜

Edit access

You can see whether you have edit access to a specific locked segmentation by checking the color of the icon next to the segmentation name. If you can edit that specific segmentation, the icon is green. I you do not have the edit access, the icon is orange.

Owner Change

The Owner and Account Admin always have access and are able to edit even locked definitions. For this reason, it is possible to change the owner and assign it to another user.

πŸ“˜

Only an Account Admin can change owner.

1. Go to the List of Segmentations/Scenarios

When you want to change the owner of a certain, e.g., segmentation navigate to the list of all segmentations. Expand the Edit menu next to the item where you want to make a change. From the menu, choose Change owner….

2. Change the Owner

A new window opens where you can choose a new owner from the drop-down menu.

3. Bulk Owner Change

It is also possible to change owners as a bulk action for several resources at once.

You need to select the segmentations you wish to change the owner for and click on the Change owner... icon from the menu.

Limitations

  • There are a maximum of 50 groups per account.
  • There are a maximum of 50 users per group.
  • There are a maximum of 10 groups per definition.
  • Only the Account Admin can change the owner.
  • Only the Account Admin can list and edit members of a group.
  • If there is a change in, e.g., an aggregate or a definition that is used in a scenario, this change would be applied.