If the customer blocks push notifications through the OS, does that mean we have no way of knowing about it, and we will still see them as delivered or sent in Exponea?
Correct. In the case of the push notifications, we are getting the information only from the Browser. As notifications are allowed in the Browser we got the sent/delivered events. But we do not have the information from OS, that it blocked the push notification.
If the above is true (i.e. blocked notifications from the OS come through as delivered or sent), how do we identify customers who have blocked notifications this way?
Since we do not have this information from the customer's OS it makes the identification of active customers based on delivered events less reliable. You can focus only on the clicked/closed events, in this case, to obtain valuable information regarding the Customer behavior and take action accordingly.
If a customer blocks push notifications in a browser, nothing happens with the Customer Profile within the Bloomreach Engagement platform yet.
If a customer receives another push notification from us, then we are tracking a failed campaign event with status code 410. Based on this status_code we are setting the current browser_push_notification to null.
When a customer decides to allow notifications once again within the settings, the customer needs to be one more time subscribed to the notifications (This is done via the weblayer by allowing the notifications). Then we set the current browser_push_notification value into the Customer Property, and the push notifications are again working and are received by the customer. You can refer to our Browser Push Notifications feature guide for more information on the setup.
Updated about 2 months ago