💡 Prerequisite Knowledge
We recommend that you review the following guide:
- Cloning Configurations Guide: This guide gives you the necessary background to understand the Cloning Configurations feature. The Rollback operation discussed in this guide helps revert the configurations you promoted with Cloning Configurations.
What is Rollback operation
Rollback allows you to revert the copy operation and restore the Target Site to the “pre-copy” state. This means that everything done as part of the last completed cloning job can be restored.
Note: If the copy operation is complete and you face any issues, please avoid copying again. Since we can only roll back to the last copy version, cloning again will erase any data you may want to restore. We recommend you reach out to Bloomreach Support in such scenarios.
How Rollback works
- Configurations restored: Rollback restores the last version for each rule type. All configuration types cloned as part of the cloning job will be rolled back at once. There is no option to roll back a particular configuration type. AB tests on the target will not be unarchived.
- Rollback time: Rollback takes at least the same amount of time as the corresponding cloning job. You should not touch the target from the time you start till the time you complete the Rollback job.
Note: Please check that there is no scheduled job for the near future. If you want to roll back a copy job X and a scheduled copy job Y runs before your Rollback request reaches our team, then it will not be possible to roll back job X at all.
Rollback is only supported for the last state/version. Before starting a new cloning process, make sure that you don't want it to be reverted to its previous state as we will override that with this new cloning process and then the revert will not be possible.
Rollback Expected Behavior Scenarios
When you decide to roll back your last cloning job, you should ideally not touch the target account/ site. If you do make changes on the target account/site, then the expected behavior of the Rollback operation might vary based on your action taken. Refer to the following table to understand the different behavior scenarios:
|Action on target site||Expected Rollback behavior|
|No modification on the target site after cloning||
|Added rules on target site after cloning||If the scope of any newly added rule conflicts with the scope of an old rule that is being restored, then the newly added rule will be retained, and the old rule will not be restored.
1. After cloning: A rule on query “table” is added on the target site.
2. After cloning: A “chair” rule is added to the target site after cloning.
|Deleted rules on target site after cloning||
|Updates on the target site after cloning||Even if the user modifies any rule (both rule scope and rule value) created from the cloning job, the rule will still be deleted by Rollback, and old rules will be restored.
Example: A rule “table” is copied to the target site by cloning job. The user edits this rule, changes the query to “chair,” and boosts different products. Rollback will still delete the “chair” rule, which originally was the “table” rule.
How to initiate a Rollback
The option to initiate a Rollback isn’t available in the dashboard UI currently. Kindly reach out to Bloomreach Support to initiate a Rollback.
Updated 4 months ago