Publish a Document
A document can be offline, live, or changed (pending review and re-publication). The publication state of the document is expressed through an icon in the "State" column of the Documents area of the Content application:
|Offline||This document is currently not published, you cannot access it through the website.|
|Live||This document is currently published and you can access it through the website.|
|Changed||A published (previous) version of the document is accessible on the website, but the document has been changed and a newer version is waiting to be published.|
When a new document is created, it enters the Offline state. Authors can request publication from users that have editor privileges.
If an author submits a request, a message is shown to editors and admins within the document editor:
They can then choose to either accept or reject the request.
On accepting the request, the document is published and is now live.
On rejecting the request, the editor or admin can leave a message for the author explaining the reasons why they have rejected the changes:
The author can view this message by clicking on Requests > Show rejected requests in the document view:
Editors and admins can also create and publish documents directly from the document view.
When a published document is adjusted, it enters the Changed state. In this state, the old, published and unchanged version of the document is still visible on the website, while the new, changed version is visible in the Document Viewer and the Experience manager's preview. In this state, the Document Viewer highlights the changes compared to the previous live version. The changes get published to the website when the editor (re-)publishes the document.