This page describes how to merge channel and content changes made within a [project](🔗) into the core.
Before a project can be merged into the core, you must [request a review](🔗) and two webmasters must [review and accept the changes](🔗) made in the project.
Open the _Projects_ application.
Projects which have been fully accepted and are therefore ready to be merged will have an _Approved_ status:
Projects with status _Campaign running_ can also be merged into core.
Click on the project you want to merge and you will see three options at the top-right of the screen: _Reopen, Merge,_ and _Start Campaign:_
Clicking _Reopen_ will put the project back into an ‘in progress’ state; all changes will be retained but the state of the project will go from ‘approved’ to ‘in progress’.
Clicking _Merge_ will take you to the _Merge project_ screen which details the channels and number of documents that will be [merged to core](🔗) if you choose to proceed:
If you are happy to proceed with the merge click the _Merge_ button, if not then click the _Cancel_ button.
Clicking _Merge_ will initiate the merge process. Once the merge is completed the _Info & Schedule_ tab will be displayed:
The _Info & Schedule_ tab will confirm the merge date and time for the project, and also provides a _Project content & merge result_. This result gives an overview of channels and content merged and the management of any conflicts encountered during the merge process.
## Handle Merge Conflicts
Merge conflicts occur when a component has been edited both within the project and on core. If such a conflict emerges during the merge process, it is presented to the user. The user has to decide to either overwrite core with the change made in the project or to skip the change made in the project and keep the change that was made on core.
The conflicting item is represented by the path which is found within the console; if necessary a developer can take a closer look at the changes that were made and help decide whether to overwrite or skip the change.
After the merge is completed, the merge reports list (for each channel) the items that had changes. Items with conflicting changes that were overwritten on core are indicated with a checkmark.