Protect an Environment - BloomReach Experience - Open Source CMS

Protect an Environment

This documentation applies to Bloomreach Cloud 2 only

Introduction

Goal

Prevent a site from being accessed by unwanted visitors by adding password protection.

Background

The site protection feature can be used to prevent unwanted visitors from accessing the site. While site protection is enabled in an environment, the browser will show a login dialog when the site is accessed.

The CMS maintenance mode feature does the same for the CMS application. This can be helpful during a maintenance window or content freeze to make sure no users can login to the CMS.

If you require more fine-grained access control, use the IP Filter Plugin to control access based on visitors' IP addresses.

Enable Site Protection

Log in to Mission Control.

Select the environment in which you want to enable site protection.

Navigate to the Settings tab.

Enable the Site protection switch.

Enter a passcode.  If you have enabled CMS maintenance mode as well, use the same passcode.

Click on the button with the checkmark.

Browse to the site to verify that it is protected. Your browser should display a generic login dialog. For example, Chrome shows:

Enter the environment name as username and the passcode you configured in Mission Control.

Enable CMS Maintenance Mode

Log in to Mission Control.

Select the environment in which you want to enable site protection.

Navigate to the Settings tab.

Enable the CMS maintenance mode switch.

Enter a passcode. If you have enabled site protection as well, use the same passcode.

Click on the button with the checkmark.

Browse to the CMS to verify that it is protected. Your browser should display a generic login dialog. For example, Chrome shows:

Enter the environment name as username and the passcode you configured in Mission Control.

When both Site protection and CMS maintenance mode are enabled, always use the same passcode for both. Using different passcodes for site protection and CMS maintenance mode will result in eradic behaviour when accessing the CMS. This is because the channel manager needs access to the site and logging in will override the CMS passcode. To avoid this, use the same passcode for site protection and CMS maintenance mode.
Did you find this page helpful?
How could this documentation serve you better?
On this page
    Did you find this page helpful?
    How could this documentation serve you better?