Other document actions - BloomReach Experience - Open Source CMS

This article covers a Hippo CMS version 11. There's an updated version available that covers our most recent release.

04-07-2016

Other document actions

Taking a document offline

A document can be unpublished by opening it in the Document Viewer and selecting Take Offline ... from the Publication menu. If the document is referred to from other published documents, the CMS displays a warning, allowing you to first remove or redirect these references. Ignoring this warning will turn all references into dead links. Click OK to confirm taking the document offline.

Moving a document

In order to move an existing document into a different parent folder, make sure the document is offline (see above). Open it in the Document Viewer and click on the Document button in the menu bar. Select Move ... to open the Move dialogue box; select the target parent folder and click OK.

Beware that moving a document is likely to change its URL. If visitors have bookmarked the old URL of the document, their bookmark will no longer work. You may want to configure the CMS to forward requests for the old URL to the new URL.

Renaming a document

In order to rename an existing document, make sure the document is offline (see above). Open it in the Document Viewer and click on the Document button in the menu bar. Select  Rename ... to open the Rename dialogue box, enter the new name and, optionally, the new URL name, and click OK.

Beware that renaming the URL name of a document will change its URL. If visitors have bookmarked the old URL of the document, their bookmark will no longer work. You may want to configure the CMS to forward requests for the old URL to te new URL.

Deleting a document

A document can only be deleted from the CMS if it is offline (see above). A document can be deleted by clicking on the Document button in the Document Viewer's menu bar. Select Delete ... to open the Delete dialogue box. If there are still documents referring to the document you're about to delete, the CMS will warn you. Make sure you remove or redirect these references before deleting the document. Click OK to confirm the deletion of the document.

Closing a document or multiple documents

You can close a document by clicking on the cross on the tab of the document. You can also right click on the tab to close multiple documents at once.

Navigating between Channel Manager (preview) and document editor

Once you have opened a document, you can use the View menu to see how the document looks like on the website. To quickly navigate back to the document click on the tab of the document.

Did you find this page helpful?
How could this documentation serve you better?
On this page
    Did you find this page helpful?
    How could this documentation serve you better?