Manage Components on a Page - Bloomreach Experience - Open Source CMS
17-09-2020

Manage Components on a Page

Introduction

Goal

Use the Channel Editor to add, configure, and/or remove components on a page.

Background

The Channel Editor enables users to manage components on certain pages in a WYSIWYG manner. To be able to manage components on a page, that page must have one or more "component containers" defined to which components can be added. Which pages have component containers, which components are available, and to what extent components can be configured typically depends on the design of the implementation project.
 

Instructions

In the Experience manager, select the channel you want to edit. Browse to the page on which you want to add, configure, and/or remove a component.

 

Add a Component to a Page

Open the sidebar and select the components tab:

Optionally, enter a search term to find the component you are looking for:

Click on the component you want to add to the page:

To add the component to the page, click inside the container to which you want to add the component. If the container already contains other components, move your mouse cursor following the visual indicators to add the new component at the desired position.

 

Configure a Component

Make sure that the components overlay is enabled (components icon highlighted):

Click on the component you want to configure to open the configuration sidebar:

Depending on the type of component, the sidebar will show different configuration options. Typically, you can configure which content should be rendered by the component and a number of parameters that change the component's visual appearance.

Change any configuration option as needed. Changes are reflected in the channel preview in real-time.

Once you are finished configuring the component, click on Save. Click on the X to close the configuration sidebar.

 

Remove a Component from a Page

Make sure that the components overlay is enabled (components icon highlighted):

Click on the component you want to remove from the page to open its configuration sidebar (see above). Click on Delete component. In the confirmation dialog that pops up, select Delete:

 

Edit Page Containers or Shared Containers

Parts of the page that you are editing can be shared by all (or multiple) pages within the site, like the page's header and footer and the navigation menu. Containers in these areas are marked as 'Shared'. Containers that are unique to the page are called 'Page containers'. Only webmasters are allowed to edit shared containers, for other users they are hidden from view.

As of 14.3.0 webmasters have to switch from editing page containers to editing shared containers to be able to manage components in shared containers.

To start editing shared containers, move the mouse pointer over a shared container and click the Edit shared containers button that appears. 

To switch back to editing page containers, move the mouse pointer over a page container and click the Edit page containers button that appears.

Publish your changes to shared containers using the Publish option (or Submit if your are working on a project) on the Channel menu.

Changes to page containers on experience pages become live by publishing the page, changes to shared containers by publishing the channel.

 

Publish Changes

How you publish your changes, depends on what kind of page you are editing:

  • An experience page can be published individually, using the Publish option on the Page menu.
  • Pages that are part of a channel are published along with other changes that you have made to the channel, using the Publish option (or Submit if your are working on a project) on the Channel menu.
Did you find this page helpful?
How could this documentation serve you better?
On this page
    Did you find this page helpful?
    How could this documentation serve you better?