Manage Experience Pages - Bloomreach Experience - Headless Digital Experience Platform

Manage Experience Pages

This feature is available since Bloomreach Experience Manager 14.3.0

In the Channel Editor you can create, edit, and publish experience pages or take them offline.

Create a Page

To create a new experience page for a channel, click the blue Add button in the Experience manager's top bar. 

The Add button is only available if the channel is configured to support experience pages.
Do not use Page (menu) > New as this will not create an experience page, but a page that is part of the channel instead

The New page form appears on the right.

  • Enter a Page name.
  • Select a Page type (if there is only one type available it is pre-selected for you).
  • Select a Layout template (if there is only one type available it is pre-selected for you).
  • Select a Page location (pre-selected is the topmost folder that is configured to contain experience pages for the current channel).
  • Click Create

A second New page form appears on the right side. This is where you enter the page's embedded content. This can be content that is displayed on the page or that is used as metadata or settings. 

  • Fill in the content fields.
  • Click Save.

The new experience page loads in the channel preview. The notification bar at the top displays the page's name and state. At this point the page is offline.

You can now continue editing the page by adding components to it or you can publish the page as is, using the Publish option in the Page menu.

Limitation in 14.3.0: You have to close the side panel to make the publication options on the Page menu available.

Edit a Page

To edit an existing experience page, first navigate to that page in the channel preview. 

Edit Layout

Add, edit, move (drag & drop) and delete components on the page, to change the layout of the experience page.

Note that parts of the site that are shared by all (or multiple) pages, are not part of the experience page, but part of the channel instead. This typically includes header and footer containers and navigation menus. Editors and webmasters can switch between editing page containers and editing shared containers to make changes to shared items. 
Authors are only allowed to edit page containers on experience pages. For them, all other (shared) containers are hidden from view.

Edit Embedded Content

To edit the embedded content of the page, choose Content on the Page menu. The Page side panel appears on the right, with the Content tab selected.
On the Content tab, the page's content fields are displayed. On clicking Save, your changes are saved and the page is reloaded to reflect those changes. Also, on each save of the page content, a new version of the page is created.

Create or Restore a Page Version

Version History

Experience pages support versioning. In each version, both the page's embedded content and its layout (its components, their location, and their configuration) are stored. 
Components often refer to documents (for instance a banner component referring to a banner document). These references are part of the component configuration and thus are stored in the page version. However, the documents themselves have their own version history which is not versioned together with the page. A component that refers to a document will always show the latest version of that document.

A page version is created:

  • On each save of the page's embedded content.
  • When the page is published or taken offline.
  • When the user creates a version manually.

The version history of an experience page is presented on the Versions tab of the page side panel:

Create a New Version

As changes to the layout of the page don't automatically result in the creation of new versions, you may want to create a version manually. To do so, open the Versions tab of the Page sidepanel. The 'Latest version' (the editable version of the page that you are working on in the Channel editor) of the page is selected in the list. Click the +Version button and version is created. It appears top of the list, marked with your username and a timestamp.

View and Restore Page Versions

To view a previous version of the page, select it in the versions list. The selected version is presented in the site, as indicated in the notification baner at the top, but is not editable.

If you want to discard the changes that were made to the page since that version, you can click the button to Restore the selected version. As a result, that previous version is copied to the editable or 'Latest' version of the page ('Latest version' is again selected in the list) and you can continue editing the page.

Rename, Copy, Move or Delete a Page

This functionality is available in the Channel editor since 14.4.0

To rename, copy, move or delete a page, use the Page menu. All four options are available for pages that are offline. Pages that are live can only be copied. If you want to rename, remove or delete a page that is live, you first have to take it offline.

    

Rename

In the rename dialog you can change the page's name and its URL name. Beware that changing the URL name of a page will change its URL. If visitors have bookmarked the old URL of the document, their bookmark will no longer work.

Copy

In the Copy dialog, specify a name and select a target parent folder for the copied page.

The folder that you select must be a folder that contains pages (rather than documents), like the current folder and its subfolders

Move

In the Move dialog, select the folder where the page is to be moved to.

The target folder must be a folder that contains pages (rather than documents), like the current folder and its subfolders
Beware that moving a page is likely to change its URL. If visitors have bookmarked the old URL of the document, their bookmark will no longer work.

Delete

The Delete dialog will warn you if the page you're about to delete is referred to from documents or from the content of other experience pages. Make sure you remove or redirect these references before deleting the document. Click Delete to confirm the deletion of the document.

Publish a Page or Take it Offline

Experience pages have the same workflow as documents: 

  • Editors and webmasters can publish them or take them offline directly, or schedule that for a later date.
  • Authors can request those publication actions.

For experience pages, these options are available in the Page menu in the Channel editor, depending on the state of the experience page.

Known limitation in 14.4.0: Schedule publication and Schedule take offline options are not available while the page's sidepanel is open

Accept or Reject Requests

When an author has put in a publication request, this is indicated on the page's notification banner.

Editors can accept or reject that request. On accepting the request, the page is published. On rejecting the request, the editor can leave a message for the author explaining the reasons why they have rejected the changes. The author, in turn, can access that feedback. All through the page's Page menu:

   

 

Cancel Request

A page with a pending publication request or a pending request to take offline is not editable. If additional changes are needed, the request can be cancelled by the author who submitted it. 

Cancel Scheduled Publication or Scheduled Take Offline

When a page is scheduled to be published or taken offline, this is indicated on the page's notification banner.

Pages are not editable while they wait to be published or taken offline. 

Known limitation in 14.4: It is not possible to cancel a scheduled publication or scheduled take offline in the Channel editor, this can only be done in the Content application.
Did you find this page helpful?
How could this documentation serve you better?
On this page
    Did you find this page helpful?
    How could this documentation serve you better?