Copy a Page - BloomReach Experience - Open Source CMS

This article covers a Hippo CMS version 10. There's an updated version available that covers our most recent release.

03-02-2016

Copy a Page

This feature is available since Hippo CMS 10.2.0

Introduction

Goal

Make a copy of an existing page in a channel.

Background

Since Hippo CMS 10.2 copying pages in the channel manager within and between channels is supported. Only copying within the same channel is enabled by default. Copying from one channel to another can be enabled by an administrator.

Both editable and non-editable pages can be copied. A copy of a non-editable page will be editable.

Copy a Page within the same Channel

Select the channel that contains the page you want to copy.

Click on Edit:

Click on Page Settings:

The Page Settings dialog appears:

The screenshot above shows the Page Settings dialog for the page mypage. Below the Make a copy of this page section you can select a Target URL (parent location) and optionally a new name for the page (currently mypage). The Target URL dropdown contains all locations to which the page can be copied. If a Target URL is selected that is locked by another user, the copy action will fail with a message explaining who locked the target.  

Copy a Page from one Channel to another Channel

By default, pages can only be copied within the same channel. Copying pages from one channel to another is optional and can be enabled by an administrator.

If this option is enabled the Page Settings dialog will have below the Make a copy of this page section a dropdown for Target channel:

The Target channel dropdown will only show the channels that have been edited in the channel manager before. If you don't see a particular channel in the dropdown, go to that channel via the channel manager overview, open that channel, and click Edit. That is normally all that is needed to make sure that a channel has an explicit preview.

What happens if I copy a page to another channel but the target channel does not have all the configuration (templates, components) required for the page?

In that case, the system makes sure to also copy over any required template or component.

Locking

A copied page is locked by the current user until they publish their changes.

Did you find this page helpful?
How could this documentation serve you better?
On this page
    Did you find this page helpful?
    How could this documentation serve you better?